Published installed prices for clear view fencing in Gauteng run from about R650 to R1,800 a metre for heights up to 2.4 metres, going by one operator's January 2026 guide (VAT excluded). Another guide gives R1,100 to R1,400 for Johannesburg and Pretoria. Height, mesh grade, gates and ground decide where yours lands. Request a quote for your own figure.
What decides the price?
Seven things set what a clear view fence costs. The first two matter most.
- Mesh grade and wire thickness. One Gauteng operator calls wire gauge and opening size the biggest factor. Tighter openings and heavier wire cost more.
- Height. A taller fence needs more mesh and deeper posts. Price guides step up by height band, from 1.2 metres to 3.0 metres and beyond.
- Posts and footings. Concrete footings at set spacing are part of the labour. Rock under the line adds to it. One guide excludes rock excavation from its ranges.
- Coating and colour. Powder-coated or PVC-coated finishes are quoted at roughly 20 to 30% above plain galvanised steel in two guides.
- Gates. Priced apart from the per-metre figure. The same operator lists pedestrian gates at R2,500 to R6,000 and automated vehicle gates at R15,000 to R40,000 and up.
- Length of the run. The same operator's figures assume a straight run of 50 metres or longer. Short runs and awkward layouts cost more per metre.
- Extras. Anti-climb spikes, razor wire, electric fencing, transport to site.
What do published prices actually say?
These are the published figures we could find and open. Every source is a fencing business or price guide that has something to sell, and they disagree in places. Use them as a sense check, never as a quote.
| What | Published range per metre | VAT | Source | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Economy, 1.2 to 1.8 m, supplied and installed, Gauteng | R650 to R950 | Excluded | Bastion Perimeter | 5 Jan 2026 |
| Standard, 1.8 to 2.1 m, supplied and installed, Gauteng | R1,000 to R1,350 | Excluded | Bastion Perimeter | 5 Jan 2026 |
| High security, 2.1 to 2.4 m, supplied and installed, Gauteng | R1,350 to R1,800 | Excluded | Bastion Perimeter | 5 Jan 2026 |
| Industrial, 2.4 to 3.0 m and up, Gauteng | R1,800 to R2,400 and up | Excluded | Bastion Perimeter | 5 Jan 2026 |
| Economy to premium, installed | R660 to R1,650 | Excluded, as are transport and rock excavation | Perimifence | Undated, checked 7 Nov 2026 |
| Installed, Johannesburg | R1,100 to R1,400 | Not stated | GEMSA | Titled 2026, no date shown, checked 7 Nov 2026 |
| Installed, Sandton | R1,200 to R1,500 | Not stated | GEMSA | Titled 2026, no date shown, checked 7 Nov 2026 |
| Installed, Pretoria | R1,100 to R1,400 | Not stated | GEMSA | Titled 2026, no date shown, checked 7 Nov 2026 |
Three things to notice. The three sources do not use the same height bands or mesh grades, so their ranges do not line up row for row. Only two sources say VAT is excluded, so ask whether a quote includes VAT before comparing it with this table. And these are indicative figures: a written quote for your boundary is the only price that counts.
What could 10 metres and 100 metres come to?
This is our arithmetic on one operator's published standard-height range, not a quote and not a promise.
| Length | At R1,000 to R1,350 a metre, excluding VAT | Adding 15% VAT |
|---|---|---|
| 10 metres | R10,000 to R13,500 | R11,500 to R15,525 |
| 100 metres | R100,000 to R135,000 | R115,000 to R155,250 |
Read these with care:
- The operator's figures assume a run of 50 metres or longer, so 10 metres is likely to cost more per metre than the table shows.
- Gates, coating, rock, slopes and electric fencing are not in the table.
- A smaller fence is not always a small bill, because the fixed work (a gate, a few posts, travel to site) is spread over fewer metres.
How to compare two quotes
Two quotes can differ by thousands of rand and describe two different fences. Put them side by side and check each line.
- Height. Same finished height above ground, in metres?
- Mesh. Same opening size and wire diameter, in millimetres?
- Posts. Same post spacing and footing depth? Who pays if rock is hit?
- Coating. Galvanised, powder-coated or PVC-coated?
- Gates. How many, what size, swing or slide, manual or automated, and are they in the total?
- Electrification. If included, is the certificate of compliance included?
- VAT, transport and removal of the old fence. In or out?
- Payment terms. Deposit, balance and when each is due.
What to ask on a quote
- "Is the price per metre or for the whole job, and what does it cover?"
- "What is not in this figure?"
- "What happens to the price if you find rock or a slope I did not mention?"
- "Can I see the mesh opening and wire diameter written down?"
- "Is VAT included?"
If you plan to add electric fencing, the extra costs are listed on the electric fence installation page.
Get a price for your boundary
A written quote is the only price that counts, because it is for your boundary at your address. Tell us your suburb, roughly how long the run is and how tall you want it, and we'll go through it line by line.
Sources for the figures on this page
- Economy R650 to R950 (1.2 to 1.8 m), standard R1,000 to R1,350 (1.8 to 2.1 m), high security R1,350 to R1,800 (2.1 to 2.4 m), industrial R1,800 to R2,400 and up (2.4 to 3.0 m and up), supplied and installed in Gauteng, excluding VAT; coated finishes about 20 to 30% more; figures assume runs of 50 m or more; pedestrian gates R2,500 to R6,000; automated vehicle gates R15,000 to R40,000 and up; wire gauge and aperture the biggest factor; VAT at 15% added if not already in the quote (Bastion Perimeter, published 5 Jan 2026) bastionperimeter.co.za
- Installed R660 to R1,650 across economy, standard and premium tiers; excludes VAT, transport, rock excavation and site-specific requirements; common heights 1.2 to 3.0 m; price drivers (Perimifence, undated, "updated 2026 guide", checked 7 Nov 2026) www.perimifence.co.za
- Installed R1,100 to R1,400 in Johannesburg and in Pretoria, R1,200 to R1,500 in Sandton; VAT not stated for these figures; PVC coating 20 to 30% more (GEMSA, titled 2026, no date shown, checked 7 Nov 2026) gemsa.org.za